How do I close my vault?
You can close vaults, but we do not allow you to remove keys.
Tips: If you're trying to remove an account rather than a vault, view our account closure guide.
If you intend to transfer your bitcoin to a new vault and close the old one, you can follow our guide on transferring vault subscriptions.
Vaults
If your vault has a zero balance, you'll be able to close the vault. Closing a vault removes the option to deposit, but you can still see the vault and its transaction history. Closing a vault automatically cancels any associated subscription.
How to close a vault
- Navigate to your vault dashboard by clicking Vaults on the top navigation bar.
- Select the vault you want to close, to go to that vault's main page.
- In the Vault tools section, under Vault management, click Close vault.
- The vault details will move to the Archived section of your vault page.
Note for clients with account-level billing: Some Unchained clients are grandfathered into an account-level billing plan and can have multiple vaults for a fixed price. Closing a vault does not impact the subscription for these accounts.
Keys
Archiving a key is only possible once that key no longer secures funds. You must close any associated vault or loan before archiving a key. Archived keys can not be made active again.
How to archive a key
-
Navigate to your Keys page and choose a key.
- Choose Archive key.
- Select a reason for archiving your key.
- They key will move to the Archived section on your keys page.